In the Crystalline Vault of Heaven

By Luminos Ensemble

Luminos Ensemble released their latest recording, In the Crystalline Vault of Heaven in October via Leaf Music, an independent recording label based in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

The sixteen-member group, under the artistic direction of Dr. Margot Rejskind, recorded the album of music by Atlantic Canadian composers in May 2022 at St. Paul’s in Sturgeon, PEI. The album features a lineup of all-Atlantic Canadian composers, including Atlantic String Machine’s Adam Hill, EKR (Evan) Hammell, Emily Doolittle, Terry Pratt, Derek Charke, Peter Togni, Kathleen Allan and David Buley.  

The title track, “In the Crystalline Vault of Heaven,” was composed by Nova Scotian Derek Charke. 

“We wanted an album that reflected the diversity and breadth of choral music being written on the east coast,” said Rejskind. “We’re showcasing composers like Adam, Emily and Evan, who all wrote these new works for us.”

Charlottetown-based Luminos Ensemble is a professional choir of trained vocal soloists that formed in 2017. The group received an ECMA Award nomination in the inaugural Best Choral Recording of the Year category in 2023 for their single, “I am an Island That Dreams“ by David Buley.