PEI Literary Awards

Island writers recognized

The PEI Writers’ Guild honoured Island writers for their works during both the Island Literary Awards and the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People. Both award galas took place at the Trailside Music Hall in Charlottetown on June 11. 

During the Island Literary Awards, adults were recognized for excellence in poetry, creative non-fiction, literature for children, and short story. The Island Literary Awards also presented awards in recognition and celebration of the literary merit of Black Island writers, writers new to Canada, Indigenous writers, Francophone writers and 2SLGTBQ+ writers. Additionally, the Champion of Reading Award, the Réshard Gool Award for Creative Writing, and the Joseph Sherman Award were also presented.

The winners of the Island Literary Awards are as follows:

The Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Literature for Children Awards to Eleanor Kielly-Wedlake—Goodnight Seaside (1st); Kelley Wright—The Great Ball Rescue (2nd), Rebecca Dawson—Shuffle Step (3rd), and Richard Lush—The Creators Plan (HM). 

The Richard Lemm and Lee Ellen Pottie Poetry Awards went to Jo Godden—“Est. 1922: Ⅰ, Ⅱ, & Ⅲ,” “Soup,” “these days,” and “oh my darling”(1st), Kara Griffin—“The Mother Tree Wept” (2nd), and Vinnie Love—“tough love letters” (3rd). 

The Maritime Electric Short Story Awards went to Isaac King—“A Warm Season” (1st), Gavin Laird—“Well Grounded” (2nd), Desiree Anstey—“Into the Islet” (3rd), and Mark Enman—“The Bookshop” (HM). 

The Joan & Regis Duffy Foundation Creative Non-Fiction Awards went to Jane Affleck—A Biography of My Maternal Grandmother, in Sixteen Parts (1st), Stuart Macfarlane—Long Odds (2nd), and D. Bailey Clark—The Edge, Found (3rd). 

The Acorn Press Marie Coyoteblanc Indigenous Writing Award went to  Tara-Lynn Rioux—Nestuita’si I recollect (1st), Richard Lush—Meskeyi Nkwis – I am sorry my son (HM), and Willie Poll—Fractured Indigeneity; The ramblings of a half breed  (HM)

The IRSA Newcomers to Canada Award went to Lorenzo Perez—Sees It.

 The Black Cultural Society of PEI Scott Parsons Literary Award went to Chanel Briggs—Hurricanes and Other Disasters (1st), and Ellie Langston—A frozen memory (HM). 

The Peers Alliance 2SLGTBQ+ Award went to Lauren Jean Lawlor—CHEESESTRING FICELLO. 

The SAF’Île Francophone Award went to Geneviève Ouellette—Une bibitte franco-canadienne (1st), and Gilbert Ladéroute—Je pense à toi (HM). 

The Champion of Reading Award went to Julie Pellissier-Lush. 

The Réshard Gool Award for Creative Writing went to Abby Lacey and Nicole Bellamy.

The Joseph Sherman Award went to Charity Becker.