Effective writing prizes

UPEI celebrates 12th annual MacLauchlan Prizes

Wade MacLauchlan (left) and UPEI Vice-President Academic and Research Greg Naterer (right) congratulate Brennan McDuffee and Athéna Marine Esmeralda Quirin, two of this year’s winners

UPEI celebrated the 12th annual MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing at a presentation ceremony on November 17. The awards were presented to 36 students and one faculty member this year, acknowledging their effective writing skills, which are the foundation of academic success and lifelong learning. 

Brennan McDuffee, a Faculty of Arts student and an award winner, read an excerpt from his piece, Best Summer Ever! A Family Comedy. 

Faculty of Arts student and award winner Athéna Quirin also read an excerpt from her piece, “L’obsession dans Du côté de chez Swann de Marcel Proust.”  

The MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing distribute up to $30,000 annually in awards. The family has made previous contributions to the Harry W. MacLauchlan Scholarships in Entrepreneurial Leadership, MacLauchlan Arena, Robertson Library, athletic scholarships, and student prizes in mathematics and entrepreneurship.  

 The 2023 recipients of the MacLauchlan Prizes for Effective Writing are Dr. Wendy Shilton, Catherine-Lynne Curtis, Peiming Ye, Ryanna Ryan, Brennan McDuffee, Deborah Langston, Olivia McNeill, Akila Thomas, Alexandra Kowalchuk, Ally Felix, Athéna Marine Esmeralda Quirin, Aurora Ryder, Caitlin Perrot, Claire MacPhee, Easton Power, Emma Coughlin, Joel Compton,  Keridwen Campbell, Larissa Storey, Laura Apblett, Lauren Rainford, Liah Clayton, Lily Greenan, Madison Walsh, Maretta Moore, Marley Lucas, Olivia Van Hul, Patience Smith, Payton Kelly, Peng Shen, Quinn O’Brien, Sheila Walsh, and Tobiah Rowswell.

The awards were established in 2011 by the MacLauchlan family to honour H. Wade MacLauchlan’s contributions to the University and his 12 years of service as UPEI president and vice-chancellor from 1999–2011.