Cupid Stupid by Scott MacKay

ECMA winners 2022

Island artist take home awards

Save Article Share Tweet

The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) held the 34th annual East Coast Music Awards: Festival & Conference in Fredericton, NB, May 4–8. Five PEI artists took home ECMA Awards this year. 

The 2022 ECMA Children’s Entertainer of the Year Award went to Gordie “Crazylegs” MacKeeman.

Scott MacKay received the 2022 ECMA Country Recording of the Year Award for his album, Stupid Cupid.

For his self-title album, Andrew Waite took home the 2022 ECMA Solo Recording of the Year.

Dylan Menzie received the 2022 ECMA Song of the Year for “A Heart That Doesn’t Want Mine.”

Scott Parsons received a Stompin’ Tom Award, one of the ECMA Honorary Awards. 

Visit to stream select shows from the 2022 East Coast Music Awards presented by Rogers, and the TD Connected Concerts Series. 

Here is a full list of this year’s winners.

African Canadian Artist of the Year

Album of the Year
Hillsburn – Slipping Away

Blues Recording of the Year
Campbell & Johnston’s Black Market Band – Self-titled Album

Children’s Entertainer of the Year
Gordie Crazylegs MacKeeman (PEI)

Classical Composer of the Year
Amy Brandon

Classical Recording of the Year
Maureen Batt & Grej – Lighthouse

Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year
Quote the Raven – Can’t Hold the Light

Country Recording of the Year
Scott MacKay – Stupid Cupid (PEI)

Dance Recording of the Year
PINEO & LOEB – Good Vibe Feeling

Electronic Recording of the Year
Paragon Cause – Autopilot

Enregistrement francophone de l’année (Francophone Recording of the Year)
Chloé Breault – Plage des morons

Folk Recording of the Year
The Gilberts – Tell Me

Global Recording of the Year
Weak Size Fish – The Drift

Group Recording of the Year
Hillsburn – Slipping Away

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Morgan Toney

Inspirational Recording of the Year
Morgan Toney – First Flight

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Andy Creeggan – Andiwork IV

Jazz Recording of the Year
Steve Amirault – Montreal Jazz Trio

Loud Recording of the Year
Botfly – Lower Than Love

Pop Recording of the Year
Hillsburn – Slipping Away

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Zamani – Selfish

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
One8tea – Ventilation 2

Rising Star Recording of the Year
Paragon Cause – Autopilot

Rock Recording of the Year
Kelly McMichael – Waves

Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year
Adam Young – Yearbook

Solo Recording of the Year
Andrew Waite – Andrew Waite (PEI)

Song of the Year
Dylan Menzie – “A Heart That Doesn’t Want Mine” (PEI); Breagh Isabel – “Girlfriends”

Songwriter of the Year
Rube & Rake

Artist Innovator of the Year (In light of COVID-19)
Mallory Johnson

Company of the Year
Side Door Access

Event of the Year
Levee on the Lake

Industry Innovator of the Year (In light of COVID-19)
Ultimate Online Nova Scotia Kitchen Party

Management/Manager of the Year
Sonic Entertainment Group

Media Outlet of the Year
First Light Fridays

Media Person of the Year
Greg Smith

Producer of the Year
Corey LeRue

Studio Engineer of the Year
Thomas Stajcer

Studio of the Year
The Sonic Temple

Video Director of the Year
Cecil Johnson

Visual Artist of the Year
Mark Young

Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year
Justin Fancy

Fans’ Choice Video of the Year
Mallory Johnson

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction
1755 – « le monde et bien changé »

Director’s Special Achievement
Patsy Gallant

Bucky Adams Memorial Award
Tachichi – Tyrone Thompson

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award
Cutting Crew

Industry Builder Award
Le Grenier Musique – Carol Doucet

Musician’s Achievement Award
Yvette Lorraine

Stompin’ Tom Awards
Scott Parsons (PEI)
Buddy MacDonald (CB)
Jean Surette (NB)
Gordon Quinton (NL)
Charles Austin (NS)