Black Cat Music Vol 1 by North Lakes

Black Cat Music Vol. 1

North Lakes

Save Article Share Tweet

Charlottetown-based rock and roll band North Lakes released their latest EP Black Cat Music Volume 1 on November 26. Like their previous work, it is the soundtrack for dive bar dance parties or windows-down drives. They play a smart blend of nostalgia and new; equal parts power pop, proto-punk, and garage rock. Melody and songcraft come first for North Lakes, keeping their tracks timeless and approachable.

The new EP begins a series of releases documenting where the band is now. The songs are about letting go after a long period of isolation and recognizing which people in your life matter most. The lyrics were written image-first, mostly set in the landscape of Canada’s northeast.

Black Cat Music Volume 1 was engineered, mixed and produced by Colin Buchanan at Hill Sound Studio. The EP was mastered by Dan Weston.

North Lakes is Nathan Gill (vocals, guitar), Roger Carter, (organ), Michael Carver (drums), Christopher Francis (bass), and Chris Robison (guitar). During the making of Black Cat Music Volume 1, the band was listening to Jesus and Mary Chain, Brian Jonestown Massacre, and HAIM, among others. They recommend this EP for those who like power pop and alternative music.