Album release: Pleasure in the Pathless Woods

Rick Sparkes and The Enablers

Save Article Share Tweet

PEI poet and songwriter Rick Sparkes, along with his band The Enablers, are set to release their second full-length album, Pleasure in the Pathless Woods on March 18. The album is the follow-up effort to the band’s 2018 debut album, The Trouble with the Light, which earned a number of Music PEI Award nominations, including the 2020 SOCAN Songwriter of the Year.

Produced by Sparkes and Brent Chaisson from Studio Dimanche, Pleasure in the Pathless Woods finds Sparkes exploring new realms of creativity in his songwriting.

Lyrically, the album navigates familiar themes of love, loss, and redemption in much more personal, and often poetic, ways. In 2016 and 2019, Sparkes was awarded the Milton Acorn Poetry Prize as part of the Island Literary Awards.

While all the music and lyrics on the new album were written by Sparkes, he maintains that the finished product was very much a collaborative effort.

“I have an incredible team of musicians that I work with,” says Sparkes. “Danny Drouin, who’s a gifted singer/songwriter in his own right, plays lead guitar on this album; Ruth Ann MacMurdo sings most of the harmonies on the album, and my long-time co-producer, Brent Chaisson, not only played drums, percussion, and bass, he recorded, mixed, and mastered this album at Studio Dimanche, so I’m very fortunate in that I get to work with some pretty talented folks, who also happen to be my best friends.”

The album also features performances by Carrie MacLellan, Dane Perry and Tim Chaisson.

Pleasure in the Pathless Woods will be available March 18. A limited number of vinyl copies are available for pre-order at

albumalbum release