Album release: oddiTY’S ODDyssey

By Norm Strangely

Save Article Share Tweet

It has been five years since rapper Norm Strangely released Owlephant and his new album, oddiTY’S ODDyssey, has been in the making since before then.

The album features 23 songs with themes that include identity crises, hip hop self perseverance, mind abduction, time, and perseverance. The tracks showcase a cast of local talent.

Adam Robbins recorded, mixed and mastered the project. He also contributed eight beats that are scattered throughout, giving oddiTY’S ODDyssey a backbone of old school hip hop and power ambient space-bop for Strangely’s diverse flow and presentation. Rob Banks of Practical Academics and original scene maker from the 1980’s Tech Thai, also provided old school beats. Son Jamms provided electronica beats with, at times, profound change ups, along with some stripped down head boppers by Element. A couple of upbeat electronica and keyboard jams were provided by Zebrabot, and Ryan 420 provided a unique trap-step and country-twang mash up. Andre Uyterlinde from Arsenal Mills provided a nu metal banger with a vocal feature. Verses on the album feature Modern Day Poet from Adjust The Facts, and LAZERWOLF.

oddiTY’S ODDyssey was executive produced by Eric Broadbent, a long time staple in PEI’s hip hop community. Artwork and pressing was done by Day 1 Media, who also helped make a YouTube lyric video for “Sounds in the Moonlight,” as well as a music video for “Puzzled Pisces.” A video for “Just keep on Goin’” is coming soon.

The album will be available at Back Alley Music in Charlottetown and digitally on Bandcamp, Spotify, Apple Music and other streaming services.

album release