2024 Heritage Awards

Islanders recognized at Eptek Art & Culture Centre

(L–R): Lieutenant Governor Antoinette Perry, Jennifer King and Suzanne Campbell
(L–R): Lieutenant Governor Antoinette Perry, Jennifer King and Suzanne Campbell

Several Islanders were recognized recently for preserving and promoting Prince Edward Island’s heritage.

PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation, along with Lieutenant Governor Antoinette Perry, presented the 2024 Heritage Awards to groups and individuals in several categories at Eptek Art & Culture Centre in Summerside.  

The Heritage Recognition Award recipients were Myrna Babineau, Suzanne Campbell, Lorraine Clements, Leland Currie, Glen Kelly, Jennifer King, Nicole Lodge, Earle MacDonald (posthumous), Dianne Porter and Aggi-Rose Reddin.

Heritage Awards in the following categories, were also given out: St. Patrick’s Ancestral Cemetery Restoration to Jamie Thomas and Jenene Woolridge; Volunteer of the Year to Brenda MacQuarrie Boudreau; Publication of the Year Academic Category to Kathleen Maude MacMillan for From Sword to Pen and to Joshua MacFadyen for Time Flies: A History of Prince Edward Island from the Air; Publication of the Year Creative Category to Genevieve Loughlin and Mo Duffy for Fiona: Prince Edward Island Accounts of Canada’s Biggest Storm; Irene Rogers Architectural Award to Josh Silver; Award of Honour to Confederation Centre Art Gallery; Boyde Beck Memorial Award to Linda Hennessey; Mary Cornfoot Brehaut Genealogy Award to Louis Joseph Arsenault; Natural Heritage Activity Award to Beth Hoar; Wendell Boyd Performance Award to Peter Gallant; and Catherine Hennessey Heritage Activism Award to Sophia Bourgue (young adult category) and Jaqueline MacNeill Doiron (adult category).

 Visit flic.kr/s/aHBqjBihtm for photos of the event.