2022 Island Literary Awards

Prince Edward Island writers recognized

Save Article Share Tweet

The PEI Writers’ Guild (PEIWG) honoured Island writers for their works during both the Island Literary Awards and the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People. Hosted by PEIWG, both award galas took place at Trailside Music Hall in Charlottetown May 29. The 2022 PEI Book Awards were also handed out during the event.

During the Island Literary Awards, adults were recognized for excellence in Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction, Literature for Children, and Short Story. The Island Literary Awards also presented awards in recognition and celebration of the literary merit of Black Island writers, writers new to Canada, and Indigenous writers, as well as writers in two new categories: SAF’Île Francophone Award and the PEERS Alliance & Pride PEI 2SLGBTQ+ Award. Additionally, the Champion of Reading Award, the Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of PEI Award, the Réshard Gool Award for Creative Writing, and the Joseph Sherman Award were also be presented.

The Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People winners are:

Early Elementary: Elsa Laird—The World of Watches (1st place).

Late Elementary: Tenuli Hindagolla—Invisible Flames (1st place); Conor Murphy—The Warrior and the Angel (2nd place); Autumn Alder—Poems from the Heart (3rd place), Jonah Mamye—About My Life (Honourable Mention)

Junior High: Garion Laird—The Dagger (1st place); Adia Laureijs—Butter Cake (2nd place); Blessing Connor—The Journey Home (3rd place); Joelle Bader—See you Litter (HM); Mnemosyne Motilla Tabangin—Isolation (HM).

Senior High: Lilly O’Rielly—Dear Me (1st place); Jane Nordquist—In Search of Contentment (2nd place); Emily Hunter—The Sailing of the Maritimer (3rd place); Kes Sabine—It’s About a Cat (HM); Laura MacDougall—The Enchantment of Annies’ Antiques (HM).

The Island Literary Award winners are:

The Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Literature for Children Awards: Kara Griffin—Flitt’s Call (1st place); Hannah Stiff—“Times Sir?” (2nd place); Kailea Switzer—I Feel That Way Too (3rd place).

Richard Lemm and Lee Ellen Pottie Poetry Awards: Julia Grounds—One Room in a Big House (1st place); Jennifer Platts-Fanning—sanctuary drift (2nd place); Daniel Mansfield—Unreasonable Considerations (3rd place); Max Koughan—Morning Spoon (HM); Ken Trenholm—Vertigo: The New Normal (HM).

Maritime Electric Short Story Awards: Katie Mac—The Key to Wednesdays (1st place); Jessica Mutch—A Good Day for a Harvest (2nd place); Devon Ross, Katrina Cristall, Monica Lacey and Somnia Lucent—A Bouquet, a Confusion, a Fall, and a Wrench (3rd place); Malcolm Murray—Art Gallery (HM); Sam Wandio—Letter from a Dying Man (HM).

The Joan & Regis Duffy Foundation Creative Non-Fiction Awards: Jo Godden—November at 92 Upper Hillsborough (1st place); Hannah Pavez—Cycling through the Devil’s Throat (2nd place); Lindsey Gallant—Cereal Mornings (3rd place).

Acorn Press Marie Coyoteblanc Indigenous Writing Award: Julia Grounds—One Room in a Big House.

IRSA Newcomers to Canada Award: Norman Ho—I BEG YOUR PARDON.

Black Cultural Society of PEI Scott Parsons Literary Award: Vanessa Kuku—The Day Baba Fell.

PEERS Alliance & Pride PEI 2SLGTBQ+ Award: Jo Godden—November at 92 Upper Hillsborough.

SAF’Île Francophone Award: Jacob Mathieu—Rouge et or (Award recipient); Hélène Lebon—Carte de l’Île, correspondance d’outre-moi (HM).

Champion of Reading Award: Cindy Lapeña

Réshard Gool Award for Creative Writing: Jack Wallace

Joseph Sherman Award: Dr. Greg Doran

Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of PEI: Finley Martin