2021 Music PEI Week

Music PEI Award nominees and events announced

Save Article Share Tweet

The 2021 Credit Union Music will take place from March 3–7, celebrating  the nominees of the 2021 Music PEI Awards. 2020 was a tough year but music from these Island artists continued to flow, often through new or seldom used platforms online.

In addition to the awards for nominated categories, six additional Board Awards—as selected by the Music PEI Board of Directors­—will be handed out. Those include Long & McQuade Educator of the Year (OTY), Industry Person OTY,  Upstreet Lifetime Achievement, Deep Roots Distillery Rooted to the Island, Live Music Production Professional OTY, and ABCE Community Contributor OTY.

The nominees of this year’s awards will be celebrated during 2021 Credit Union Music PEI Week with four days of live performances and live streamed events at the Trailside Music Cafe and The Guild, including the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Concert (hosted by Matt Rainnie), Diggin’ Deep Roots, Block Party, Sounds for the Soul, and Red Dirt Rock.

The awards will be handed out on Sunday afternoon, March 7 at the Awards Party, and the week will close off with the Festival Finale on the Confederation Centre Mainstage Sunday night featuring top nominees Catherine MacLellan, Rachel Beck, Dylan Menzie, Brielle Ansems, and a classical music treat with pianist Sarah Hagen and vocal ensemble Sirens.

Tickets will be on sale starting February 1. All of the festival details will be available at musicpei.com.

Here are the nominees for the 2021 Music PEI Awards:

PEI Symphony Achievement in Classical/Jazz Music

Sarah Hagen; Sirens; Winterjazz Quartet

Credit Union Album OTY

Catherine MacLellan—Coyote; Dylan Menzie—Lost in Dreams; KINLEY—KINLEY; Rachel Beck­—Stronger Than You Know; Sarah Hagen—Women of Note

The Buzz Album Art OTY

Brielle Ansems—This New Hurricane (Lead Artist/Graphic Designer (LA/GD): Sarah Eddie and Brielle Ansems); Catherine MacLellan—Coyote (LA/GD: Heather Millar and Jason Alward); Dylan Menzie—Lost in Dreams (LA/GD: Ashley Anne Clark and Cohen McDonald); Lawrence Maxwell—Almost Natural (LA/GD: Aidan Searle); Sirens—Boundless (LA/GD: Alana Reddin)

Digital Achievement OTY

Brandon Howard Roy; Cory Gallant; Dylan Menzie; KINLEY; The East Pointers

Copper Bottom Event OTY

Feelin’ Mighty Proud—Confederation Centre of the Arts; Harvest Home Festival; Indian River Festival; The Island Drive-In Festival

Francophone Artist OTY

Adrienne Gallant; Sirène et Matelot; Vishtèn

City of Charlottetown Group Recording OTY

Adjust the Facts—Go Play Outside; Amanda Jackson Band—Ocean; Graves of the Abyss—Burial; Little Cities—Little Cities EP; Sirens—Boundless; Sky Family—Courageous

Instrumental Recording OTY

Inn Echo—Inn Echo; Luka Hall—Category 1; Sarah Hagen—Women of Note; Wrong Planet Band—Wrong Planet Band

Livestream OTY

Confederation Centre of the Arts—Kierrah Celeste; Rollo Bay Fiddle Festival; Royal North; Scott Parsons; Vishtèn

Holland College Musician OTY

Eric Broadbent; Mark Haines; Roland Beaulieu

Maritime Electric Lloyd Doyle New Artist OTY

Brandon Howard Roy—Little Reasons; Brielle Ansems—This New Hurricane; Logan Richard—Everyday; Sarah Hagen —Women of Note; Shane Pendergast—Place to the Name

Cymba Music Publishing Producer OTY

Adam Gallant; Colin Buchanan; Daniel Drouin; Jon Matthews

Recording Studio OTY

The Hill Sound Studio; The Sound Mill; Up West Production

SOCAN Songwriter OTY

Catherine MacLellan; Dylan Menzie; KINLEY; Logan Richard; Rachel Beck

Crabbe Road Productions Solo Recording OTY

Brielle Ansems—This New Hurricane; Catherine MacLellan—Coyote; KINLEY—KINLEY; Rachel Beck—Stronger Than You Know; Sarah Hagen—Women of Note

Music Publishers Canada Song OTY

Brielle Ansems—”More Than My Heart”; Catherine MacLellan & Tara MacLean—”This Storm”; Cory Gallant—”Easily Addicted”; Rachel Beck—”Warrior”; Nikkie Gallant—”Free (I Remember)”

Venue OTY

Celtic Performing Arts Centre; Copper Bottom Brewing; Mainstage Theatre—Confederation Centre of the Arts; Stompin’ Tom Centre

FilmPEI Video OTY

Adjust the Facts—”Human Virus” (Dir:  Day1 Media); Catherine MacLellan & Tara MacLean—”This Storm” (Dir:  Catherine MacLellan & Tara MacLean); KINLEY—”Run With You” (Dir: Jenna MacMillan); Lennie Gallant—”Sequoia” (Dir: Lennie Gallant and Evan Christensen); Rachel Beck—”Dancin’” (Dir: Millefiore Clarkes); Sirens—”In Her Image” (Dir: Millefiore Clarkes)

Contemporary Roots/Country Recording OTY

Amanda Jackson Band—Ocean; Catherine MacLellan—Coyote; Dylan Menzie—Lost in Dreams; Lawrence Maxwell—Almost Natural; Shane Pendergast—Place to the Name

Electronic Recording OTY

Hailey MacIsaac—Down2U (feat. Mossboy); Lee Rosevere—Promise; Phyzxx—01.10 (feat. AKAninja)

Loud/Rock Recording OTY

Graves of the Abyss—Burial; Kari-Lyn Blacquiere—Hit The Ground; Little Cities—Little Cities EP; Wrong Planet Band—Wrong Planet Band

Downtown Charlottetown Inc. Pop Recording OTY

Brielle Ansems—This New Hurricane; KINLEY—KINLEY; Rachel Beck—Stronger Than You Know

Rap/HipHop Recording OTY

Adjust the Facts—Go Play Outside; Braeden Van Asperen—Voices; Eric Broadbent—Serendipitous Bastards; Slime da Garbage Mane—In da Crib Music; Spivey—Vibein; Vince the Messenger—Nowhere 2 Grow

FACTOR Entertainer OTY

Catherine MacLellan; Dylan Menzie;

Rachel Beck; The East Pointers; Vishtèn