Earl Lockerby receiving his award from The Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant-Governor of Prince Edward Island

2018 PEI Museum and Heritage Award recipients

Save Article Share Tweet

Heritage Activity Awards: Genevieve MacDonald, Catherine MacDonald & Mary-Carla MacDonald for the research and publication of Helen MacDonald of Glenalladale—Miss Nelly; Yolande Painchaud for an extensive donation of PEI artifacts to the Acadian Museum; John Andrew for his work developing interpretive signage for the trails along Andrew’s Pond and Wright’s Creek natural area; Alex Clark for rehabilitation of the former Summerside Railway Station to the Evermoore Craft Brewery; Ron Coffin for transforming former Alma Schoolhouse (Kings Co.) into a charming residence preserving its original character; Stacy MacInnis for restoring the former Millman-Johnstone House and surrounding Woodleigh Replicas gardens in Burlington; Steven Mannell author/curator and Solsearch principals David Bergmark and Ole Hammarlund for “Living Lightly on the Earth. Building an Ark for Prince Edward Island, 1974-1976” published by Dalhousie Architectural Press; PEI Holstein Association and Fred Vanderkloet for the publication of “Bridge to Perfection. The History of the Holstein Breed in Prince Edward Island.”; Katherine Dewar for Called to Serve: Georgina Pope, Canadian Military Nursing Heroine published by Island Studies Press; The Late Lowell Huestis for his many years preserving and promoting PEI history; St. Anthony’s Legion Cenotaph Committee for creation and display of banners commemorating Prince County soldiers who served in WWI; Tryon Christian Church Pioneer Cemetery Restoration Committee (Jack Sorensen and others) for restoration and care of this cemetery

Natural Heritage Activity Award: Barbara Joy Green for her donation of a 12-acre parcel of land to Island Nature Trust to establish the “Barbara Green Natural Area”

Volunteer of the Year Award: Donna Martin for dedication and commitment to the advancement of PEI’s wildlife conservation management, education and documentation

Youth Volunteer of the Year Award: Brendan Kelly for his significant volunteer contribution to the preservation and promotion of the province’s wildlife conservation and natural heritage

Publication of the Year Award: Stratford Heritage Committee for research and publication of “We Will Remember Them: Stratford Heroes of the First World War”

Mary Cornfoot Brehaut Genealogy Award: Theresa Gallant of the Farmers’ Bank of Rustico Museum & Doucet House for her contribution to collecting, preserving and sharing Acadian culture and heritage.

Irene Rogers Architectural Award: Raeford Waite, RW Woodworking for his contribution in preserving the architectural heritage of PEI

Wendell Boyle Performance Award: Wyatt Heritage Properties Inc. production of “To The Power of Five: 1993 PEI Women in Politics”

Boyde Beck Memorial Award: Reg (Dutch) Thompson for his contributions to oral history and storytelling of PEI

Award of Honour: Earle Lockerby for his outstanding contribution in the field of Island historical research